This Ice Cream Recipe Round-Up was so much fun to put together. You will love all the delicious flavors you can churn up in your ice cream maker!
As always, everything on Go Gluten Freely is gluten-free. I promise, you will not miss the gluten in any of these electric ice cream maker recipes!
Some of the links on this post are affiliate links. To learn more, visit our Disclosures.
If you want to skip my spiel on equipment, go ahead and jump straight to the drool-worthy ice recipes! There are five flavor categories (all gluten-free): classic, rich, fun, fruit, and dairy-free.
An ice cream maker is the one essential piece of equipment you absolutely need to make these homemade ice cream recipes. Although some of the following recipes include no-churn options, you will have the creamiest ice cream if you invest in an electric ice cream maker.
The Cuisinart ICE-21P1 1.5 Quart Ice Cream Maker is an affordable, compact, easy-to-use ice cream machine that does all the hard work for you, with no ice or rock salt needed.
The Cuisinart ice cream maker comes in a few cute colors, which is a big selling point for me when it comes to kitchen appliances. It also comes in white, for more sensible folks who don’t buy appliances (and cars) based on color.
The rest of the items on this list are only helpful or necessary for some recipes. A couple of items are completely unnecessary and just for fun or convenience (ice cream bowls and tubs). If you find you enjoy making ice cream all the time, you may splurge for some of these. Otherwise, you can save money by using what you already have.
Fine Mesh Sieve – some recipes call for running your custard through a sieve to remove any lumps
Kitchen Infrared Thermometer – for heating custards to a safe temperature
Double Boiler – for melting chocolate
Saucepan – some (not all, and not even most) of the recipes involve heating ingredients
Ice Cream Scooper – while you can use a spoon, an ice cream scooper is easier and gives you the satisfaction of a perfect scoop (or two or three)
Spatula – to scrape every last bit of ice cream goodness from the mixing bowl into your electric ice cream maker
Whisk – to thoroughly mix ingredients and add air for a light, creamy texture
Large Mixing Bowl – for mixing ingredients before adding to your ice cream maker
Fun Ice Cream Tubs – like Tovolo Glide-a-Scoop, to store ice cream in the freezer. Of course, you can store it in any airtight container.
Ice Cream Bowls – entirely just for fun
Tiny Ice Cream Spoons – my kids love using these 4.7″ demitasse spoons to savor their ice cream… they like nothing better than being the last one eating ice cream!
Gluten-Free Homemade Ice Cream Recipes:
These classic ice cream flavors are perfect as-is for a good, old-fashioned bowl of ice cream. Or dress them up with your favorite toppings.
This section of recipes is just for ice cream connoisseurs who truly appreciate ice cream’s most decadent flavors, like coffee, chocolate, tea, Nutella, and more
From cake to candy canes and flowers, you’ll love this collection of fun flavors!
These are my personal favorite flavors of ice cream, sweet treats where you can truly taste the fresh ingredients….. where real fruit overpowers the sugar. These recipes are delicious year-round, but never better than in the heat of summer!
Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free
Many people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance are also sensitive to dairy. This last category was made for you. Every one of these recipes is gluten-free and dairy-free, so you can enjoy the ice cream you love while still being kind to your tummy.
Verifying Gluten-Free Ingredients
These recipes are all naturally gluten-free. However, if you are on a medically-necessary gluten-free diet, it’s critical to always read the ingredients and information on the label to make sure there are no added gluten ingredients or gluten cross-contamination.
We’ll go through the ingredients (most pop up in several of the recipes) and walk through areas of gluten risk and products that are reliably gluten-free.
Eggs, Milk Products, and Dairy Alternatives
Eggs are gluten-free.
Milk, heavy whipping cream, condensed milk, half & half, and butter are naturally gluten-free unless there are added ingredients, such as flavorings, that may contain gluten.
Milk alternatives have more added ingredients, so reading labels is especially important. It’s recommended to purchase brands that are labeled gluten-free: So Delicious Coconut Milk and So Delicious Almond Milk are certified gluten-free. Thai Kitchen Coconut Cream is labeled gluten-free.
Oat milk is in its own category. Oats are naturally gluten-free, but most oats are cross-contaminated with gluten-containing grains in the field and factory. You can assume that oat milk is cross-contaminated with gluten unless it is labeled gluten-free. Oatly Oat Milk is certified gluten-free.
Sugar (white sugar, brown sugar, powdered sugar), honey, pure maple syrup, and molasses are all gluten-free.
Glucose syrup is gluten-free, even if it is made from wheat, due to extensive processing.
Flavorings, Seasonings, and Spices
Vanilla extract, beans, and pastes do not contain gluten. There are some brands that specifically label their products gluten-free, like Nielsen-Massey vanilla bean paste, extract, and beans, which are all certified gluten-free.
Mccormick has a lot of options for labeled gluten-free vanilla extract and other flavor extracts, which are available in most grocery stores. Look for gluten-free written on the front of the box.
Some of the recipes call for flavorful spices, like cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger. I discuss spices in the gluten-free diet in detail here, but if you are looking for affordable, easy-to-find spices, Badia is labeled (not certified) gluten-free.
Chocolate, in varying forms, makes an appearance in many of these ice cream recipes. Thankfully, there are gluten-free options for every kind of chocolate.
Nestle Chocolate Chips are easy to find and are labeled gluten-free. It’s available in any flavor called for in the recipes above: dark chocolate, semi-sweet chocolate, milk chocolate, and white chocolate.
For the gluten-free and dairy-free ice cream recipes, Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips are certified gluten-free, dairy-free, and allergen-friendly. You can also get these chips in dark chocolate, semi-sweet chocolate, rice-milk chocolate, and white chips.
Baking chocolate bars. I use Baker’s Chocolate which is available in several varieties called for in these recipes, including German Chocolate and Semi-Sweet Chocolate. Baker’s Chocolate is not labeled gluten-free, but it has no gluten ingredients. It is also made by the Kraft Heinz Company, which declares all gluten ingredients.
There is an unfortunate loophole in FDA labeling guidelines requiring that wheat be declared, but barley and rye can be hidden. Kraft Heinz will always state the source of any ingredient made from a gluten-containing grain. You can read more on the Kraft Heinze website. And always check the package at the time of purchase.
If you are uncomfortable using products that are not specifically labeled gluten-free, substitute gluten-free chocolate chips. For ice cream, the difference between a chocolate chip and baking chocolate is insignificant.
Hershey’s really stands out for gluten-free options in the chocolate category. A selection of cocoa powders, chocolate syrups, and chocolate chips are all gluten-free. Check the label at the time of purchase. If it’s gluten-free, the Hershey Company will declare it on the package.
Now for one of the most important chocolate questions in existence…
Is Nutella gluten-free? Nutella’s manufacturer, Ferrero Food Service answers that question plainly in its FAQs. “Yes. Nutella does not contain any ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: wheat, barley, rye, oats, or triticale.”
Fruits, Vegetables, Nuts, and Starch
Fruits and vegetables are at the heart of many of these recipes. Sweet potatoes, lemons, melons, strawberries, and more… all gluten-free.
Nuts are a little trickier. They are also naturally gluten-free, but many nuts are processed on the same equipment as gluten-containing products. It’s not unusual to see “may contain wheat” on a container of nuts.
Nuts.com sells reliably gluten-free nuts and other products (like dates and coconut flakes, both of which appear in a couple of recipes above), all processed on separate gluten-free production lines. You can read more on Nuts. com.
A huge selection of products is gluten-free at Nuts.com, but not everything. Make sure you select specifically from the gluten-free products on Nuts.com.Purchase bulk nuts, snack mixes, dried fruits, candies & sweets by the pound at Nuts.com! Redeem $5 Off Your Entire Order When You Spend $45 or More
Tapioca starch is used in one of the recipes above. It comes from the cassava plant and is naturally gluten-free. More often than not, tapioca starch is labeled gluten-free, so it’s easy enough to find with a gluten-free label for extra assurance.
Beverages (Coffee, Tea, Matcha & Alcohol)
Pure (no added flavorings) coffee, espresso powder, and matcha are all naturally gluten-free.
For coffee, you can buy whole beans and grind your own coffee, to even further reduce the chance of cross-contamination during processing. It’s also the best way to get the freshest coffee!
Teas, in particular, deserve a little extra caution, as they can contain barley, either as a main ingredient or as an added flavoring. Always read the label. Bigelow Tea is a great choice. The company states that its teas do not contain gluten, and the boxes state gluten-free.
For matcha powder, I personally enjoy Encha Matcha daily. The only ingredient is pure organic matcha green tea powder. The company informed me via email that its matcha is gluten-free. Additionally, it is only processed on the same equipment as fruit and some nuts, and the equipment is cleaned and sanitized between products.
A handful of the ice cream recipes call for bourbon, vodka, or limoncello. In those recipes, alcohol is listed as an optional ingredient. If you decide to include it, you’ll be glad to know that these three distilled alcohols, even though they are made from wheat, barley, and/or rye, are considered gluten-free, because of the distillation process.
Be aware that flavorings added to the alcohol after distillation may not be gluten-free.
- Gluten-Free Cookies: Tate’s Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies, Goodie Girls Mint Slims (just like Girl Scouts Thin Mints, but certified gluten-free), and Gluten-Free Oreo Cookies
- Candy Canes: Spangler Candy Canes and Yum Earth Candy Canes are gluten-free
- Mini Marshmallows: I use the easy-to-find-in-every-store Kraft Jet-Puffed Mini Marshmallows, which do not have gluten ingredients, but are not labeled gluten-free nor tested. Depending on your comfort level, another option is Dandies Vegan Gluten-Free Mini Marshmallows available on Amazon.
- Marshmallow Creme/Fluff: Kraft Marshmallow Creme has no gluten ingredients, but is not labeled gluten-free. Marshmallow Fluff states that it is gluten-free, right on the jar! You can use either interchangeably in the recipes that call for marshmallow creme or fluff.
- Gluten-Free Mixes: King Arthur Gluten-Free mixes are fabulous, and a favorite in the gluten-free community. Try King Arthur Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake Mix, King Arthur Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix, and King Arthur Gluten-Free Fudge Brownie Mix
Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones
If enjoying your scoop of ice cream on a cone is important to you, there are gluten-free ice cream cones available in many stores, in cake style and sugar cone style.
To avoid the disappointment of a bunch of broken cones, I recommend purchasing gluten-free cones in-store, rather than online. Remember to scoop gently when filling the cones! They are fragile.
Label Reading for the Gluten-Free Diet
For more information on the basics of label reading on the gluten-free diet, the Celiac Disease Foundation has a helpful article, Gluten Free 101: What You Need to Know and a Gluten-Free Diet and Food Label Reading Guide.
Have fun discovering (and tasting) your new favorite ice cream recipes!