Chick-Fil-A gluten-free grilled chicken sandwich on a gluten-free bun, with lettuce and tomato, gluten-free Chick-fil-A French fries in the background

Complete Gluten-Free Chick-fil-A Guide (2024)

As a celiac and mother of a child with celiac disease, Chick-fil-A is one of our go-to, fast-food restaurants. It is one of a handful of fast-food chains with gluten-free options that we trust.

With restaurant locations throughout the US, it is easy to find a nearby Chick-fil-A whether at home or on the road. Having a reliable list of chain restaurants streamlines road trip planning when you or a loved one has celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Chick-fil-A definitely makes this list.

This chain offers a wide selection of items without gluten. Although Chick-fil-A discloses that there is a risk of cross-contamination due to a shared kitchen, its restaurants have excellent protocols to prevent cross-contact:

  • Cashiers note “gluten-allergy” on the ticket and notify kitchen staff verbally.
  • Cooks change gloves and clean surfaces.
  • There is a separate fryer for waffle fries at most locations. (Yay!) Always verify at each local Chick-fil-A.
  • Grilled chicken and grilled chicken nuggets are prepared separately from the fried chicken.
  • Your certified gluten-free bun (for a gluten-free grilled chicken sandwich) is served to you still sealed in its package.

Importantly, through these protocols, Chick-fil-A has demonstrated that it values its customers who are on a medically-necessary gluten-free diet.

Always check with the manager at any Chick-fil-A you visit to confirm cross-contamination protocols are in place, the staff is knowledgeable at that location, and the menu items you are ordering are still on the Chick-fil-A issued list of gluten-free options. Airport locations, in particular, may have limited kitchen space for typical cross-contamination protocols resulting in a more limited gluten-free menu.

Breakfast Items

Red and white paper bowl with Chick-fil-A name/logo on front. Inside, scrambled bits of sausage, eggs, and hash browns.
Hash Brown Scramble Bowl with Sausage

Breakfast is where Chick-fil-A really stands out. So many of the chains we trust for gluten-free options serve only lunch and dinner, but Chick-fil-A is open for breakfast when you are in a hurry or on the road.

The Chick-fil-A breakfast menu has the following gluten-free items:

  • Hash Brown Scramble Bowl w/ grilled chicken filet
  • Hash Brown Scramble Bowl w/ sausage
  • Bacon slice
  • Sausage patty
  • Hash browns
  • Fruit cup
  • Yogurt parfait (without granola)

Another option is to order from the lunch/dinner menu at breakfast time. Chick-fil-A makes these items available all day, but they will take an extra 15-20 minutes to prepare during breakfast service.

Important note about the granola served with the yogurt parfait: while oats are inherently gluten-free, 90% of oats are cross-contaminated with gluten-containing grains in the field, or during transporting, processing and shipping. Chick-fil-A does not use gluten-free oats in its granola, so the Harvest granola package that comes with the yogurt parfait is not celiac safe. If you really want a little crunch in your parfait, you could bring a portion of gluten-free granola from home.

Note: Chick-fil-A states that its iced coffee is not gluten-free.

Lunch/Dinner Entrees

chick-fil-a-gluten-fee lunch/dinner menu in red heading box, three columns with red headings above and "pick one" in the red box below, column 1 is "Entree": Grilled Chicken Sandwich (sub gluten-free bun) Grilled Nuggets Market Salad* Cobb Salad w/ Grilled Nuggets, Grilled Filet, or no chicken* Spicy Southwest Salad w/ Grilled Nuggets, Grilled Fillet, or no chicken* , Column 2 is Side: Waffle Potatoe Fries Fruit Cup Waffle Potato Chips Side Salad* Kale Crunch Side Greek Yogurt Parfait*, Column 3 is Beverage: Iced Tea Soft Drinks Lemonade Iced Coffee Apple or Orange Juice Coffee Milk (reg. or chocolate) Dasani Water ----on the bottom left: "*Order without toppings "
Assemble your gluten-free grilled chicken sandwich! It comes deconstructed with a pre-packaged gluten-free bun.

Chick-fil-A offers a number of gluten-free menu items for lunch and dinner:

  • Grilled Chicken Sandwich (order gluten-free bun)
  • Grilled Nuggets
  • Entree Salads:
    • Market Salad (without toppings)
    • Cobb Salad w/ Grilled Nuggets, Grilled Filet (without toppings)
    • Spicy Southwest Salad w/ Grilled Nuggets, Grilled Fillet (without toppings)

There is so much to love about this lunch menu. My favorite is the grilled market salad, which I order with no blue cheese (preference), and the Zesty Apple Cider Vinaigrette (gluten-free). My husband typically gets the Cobb Salad with grilled nuggets.

salad in a plastic container with lettuce, strawberries and sliced grilled chicken

Miss E can’t pick a favorite and usually orders either the grilled nuggets or the grilled chicken sandwich (on a gluten-free bun). The grilled chicken sandwich comes disassembled, and the gluten-free bun is served in a separate package (the way it comes from the factory) to prevent cross-contamination in the kitchen.

Chick-fil-A’s gluten-free bun is enriched with vitamins and minerals, made with ancient grains quinoa and amaranth, instead of rice flour, and sweetened with molasses and raisins.

The regular breaded and spicy chicken options are not gluten-free.


hand dipping gluten-free chick-fil-a waffle fry in ketchup
Waffle Fries are usually made in a dedicated fryer. Confirm at your local Chick-fil-A.

The grilled chicken sandwich and grilled nuggets come with a choice of one of the following gluten-free sides, or you can order them a la carte:

  • Waffle Potato Fries (confirm dedicated fryer at your location)
  • Waffle Potato Chips (pre-packaged)
  • Side Salad (without toppings, as the crispy bell peppers contain wheat)
  • Kale Crunch Side
  • Fruit Cup
  • Greek Yogurt Parfait (without toppings, as the cookie crumbs contain wheat and the granola contains oats that are not labeled gluten-free)

French fries in a dedicated fryer are a rarity, so for folks with celiac disease, the gluten-free Chick-fil-A waffle fries are the big win here! My daughter orders them every time. Always confirm at each location that they have a dedicated fryer.

As noted above, the oats that are served with the Greek yogurt parfait are not labeled gluten-free. While oats are naturally gluten-free, they are at high risk of cross-contact with gluten containing grains in the field and during processing. Oats without a gluten-free claim are not considered safe for those of us with celiac disease. Chick-fil-A’s granola is packaged separately from the parfait, so they are easily excluded from your meal.

Get the Free Celiac Guide to Dining Out

Includes 10 Chain Restaurants with gluten-free options & safe protocols.

Plus, steps to eat safely gluten-free and key questions to ask!

    We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Kids Meal

    "chick-fil-a-gluten-fee lunch/dinner menu" in red heading box, right below that box is another box with "entree" in the red sub-heading box and "grilled chicken nuggets" below, underneath are three columns with red headings above and "pick one" in the red box below, column 1: side: Waffle Potatoe Fries Fruit Cup Cinnamon Apple Sauce Waffle Potato Chips, column 2: beverage:Milk (1% or chocolate) Water Iced Tea Lemonade Soft Drink, column 3: surprise: Prize (ages 3 & under) Prize (ages 4 & up) Icedream in a cup

    There is only one menu item for a gluten-free kids’ meal: 5-count grilled nuggets. But your kiddo can have a choice of beverage and the following sides:

    • Waffle Potato Fries (confirm dedicated fryer at your location)
    • Waffle Potato Chips (pre-packaged)
    • Apple Sauce (pre-packaged)
    • Fruit Cup

    The best part of the kids’ meal is the surprise. Choose from one of two prizes (ages 3 & under or ages 4 & up) or an Icedream Cup!


    Chick-fil-A says that the following dressings are gluten-free, which currently happen to be ALL of its salad dressings:

    • Avocado Lime Ranch Dressing
    • Creamy Salsa Dressing
    • Fat-Free Honey Mustard Dressing
    • Garden Herb Ranch Dressing
    • Light Balsamic Vinaigrette
    • Light Italian Dressing
    • Zesty Apple Cider Vinaigrette

    Gluten-Free Dipping Sauces:

    • Barbeque Sauce
    • Chick-fil-A® Sauce
    • Honey Mustard Sauce
    • Honey Roasted BBQ Sauce
    • Zesty Buffalo Sauce

    *While the Polynesian sauce does not contain gluten, I am temporarily removing it from this list due to a recent recall. It appears that the packages distributed at restaurants were mislabeled and contained a different sauce with wheat and soy ingredients. (My guess is Sriracha Sauce).

    Here’s the recall announcement from the Chick-fil-A website: Please discard any Polynesian Sauce dipping cups that you may have taken home between February 14-27, 2024. The Polynesian Sauce dipping cups may contain a different sauce that includes wheat and soy allergens. 

    The dipping sauces are so in demand that Chick-fil-A started selling them in large containers. I only know this because my son is a huge fan of Chick-fil-A sauce. Lovers of the popular Chick-fil-A sauce will be thrilled to know that it made the gluten-free list.

    The only two dipping sauces missing from the gluten-free list are the Garden Herb Ranch Sauce and Siracha Sauce. The latter contains wheat.


    • Icedream (in a cup)
    • Yogurt Parfait (without granola)
    • Frosted Lemonade

    Yogurt Parfait is not on Chick-fil-A’s list of treats, but it’s on mine! Even better, combine the fruit cup and Icedream for an upgraded ice cream treat!

    Sample Menu Combinations

    1. Grilled chicken sandwich, waffle fries, lemonade
    2. Grilled nuggets with Chick-fil-A sauce, side salad, soda
    3. Market salad, water, yogurt parfait for dessert
    4. Hash brown scramble bowl w/ sausage, fruit cup, coffee
    5. Kids’ nuggets with barbeque sauce, milk, fruit cup, icedream (combine fruit cup and icedream for dessert)


    Here are answers to Gluten-Free Chick-fil-A Frequently Asked Questions:

    Chick-fil-A is not a dedicated gluten-free restaurant chain, but it does offer a wide variety of options on its gluten-free menu.

    The Company discloses, “Due to the handcrafted nature of our food, variations in our supplier ingredients and our use of shared cooking and preparation areas, we cannot ensure that our restaurant environment or any menu item will be completely free of gluten.”

    While this disclaimer can be unnerving for those of us with celiac disease, it is standard for restaurants with a shared kitchen, where there is always a risk of cross-contamination.

    Chick-fil-A does have excellent cross-contamination protocols. Always ask for a manager when placing your gluten-free order. Explain that you have celiac disease, or state “a severe gluten allergy, which although not accurate, is often better understood in the food industry. Ask about the gluten-free status and cross-contamination protocols for the specific items you wish to order. Use your judgment regarding the allergy and cross-contamination knowledge and procedures at each local Chick-fil-A.

    Yes, the grilled nuggets at Chick-fil-A are gluten-free. Like the grilled chicken (if ordered on a gluten-free bun), the grilled nuggets do not contain gluten ingredients and are prepared separately from the breaded, fried chicken.

    Chick-fil-A lists the grilled nuggets as a “gluten-sensitive option” because there is risk of cross-contamination in any restaurant that is not 100% gluten-free. Always discuss cross-contamination protocols with the staff before placing your order.

    Yes! Chick-fil-A sauce is gluten-free, along with the popular Polynesian sauce and Barbeque sauce. Except for its Siracha sauce (which contains wheat) and Garden Herb Ranch sauce, Chick-fil-A lists all of its other dipping sauces as gluten-free.

    Chick-fil-A is a great option for a gluten-free, fast-food breakfast. Start your day with a hashbrown scramble with either sausage or grilled chicken. Or you can mix and match the following items to create a filling breakfast: bacon slice, sausage patty, hash browns, fruit cup, and yogurt parfait (without granola).

    Yes! For an additional charge, Chick-fil-A offers its gluten-free customers a certified gluten-free bun that is served individually packaged.

    Chick-fil-A fries waffle fries are gluten-free. They do not contain gluten ingredients and are fried in a separate fryer from the breaded chicken items. Always confirm cross-contamination protocols and a dedicated fryer at each individual restaurant before ordering.

    Yes! Like the waffle fries, Chick-fil-A hash browns have no gluten ingredients and are fried in a dedicated gluten-free fryer. Speak to a manager to confirm the current cross-contamination protocols and a dedicated fryer at your local Chick-fil-A.

    Chick-fil-A answers this question directly, “Although the ingredients in our Peppermint Chocolate Chip Milkshake are gluten-free, we do not classify it as gluten-free. Given that we make all of our Milkshakes on the same equipment.”

    Unfortunately, all of the Chick-fil-A milkshakes are processed on the same equipment as the Cookies & Cream milkshake, making them at very high risk for cross-contamination.

    My family has been enjoying Chick-fil-A since before Miss E and I were diagnosed with celiac disease. You can read the story of my diagnosis here. In the hazy, early days of a celiac diagnosis, it was such a joy and relief to find out that we could continue eating at Chick-fil-A! If this guide gives you and your family the same enjoyment, it will have been my pleasure.

    More Gluten-Free Dining Out Reviews:

    Similar Posts

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *