white text: "Gluten Free Ice Cream", four ice cream cones, one vanilla, two various chocolate flavors, sprinkled with nuts, sitting in a white mug on a wooden table

Get the Scoop on the Best Gluten-Free Ice Cream!

May I let you in on a little secret? I don’t particularly care for ice cream. It’s shocking and unimaginable, right? I could actually take it or leave it. Unless, of course, we’re talking about enjoying gelato on a cobblestone street somewhere in Europe!

gluten-free chocolate and mint chip gelato on a gluten-free waffle cone
Delicious gluten-free gelato (and gluten-free waffle cone!) in Athens

But, I am an expert on gluten-free ice cream, thanks to my house full of ice cream lovers!

More importantly, my daughter, who got her celiac disease from me, is a huge ice cream fan. We have been navigating the world of gluten-free ice cream for years.

Some of the links on this post are affiliate links. To learn more, visit our Disclosures.

We’re about to cover everything you want to know about gluten-free ice cream:

Gluten in Ice Cream: The Basics

Very basic ice cream, made with milk, cream, sugar, sometimes eggs, and a real flavor, like cocoa powder, strawberries, or mangoes, is naturally gluten-free.

In reality, though, most ice cream is not that basic.

chocolate ice cream in a glass ice cream dish

Here are things you need to consider when determining if an ice cream product is safe to eat on a gluten-free diet:

  1. Does the ice cream contain obvious gluten ingredients? Unless specifically labeled gluten-free, you can assume flavors like cookies & cream, cookie dough, or brownie ice cream contain wheat. Wheat is one of the top 9 allergens and must be specifically called out on the product label if wheat is in the product.
  2. Are there hidden gluten ingredients? Barley and rye, like wheat, are gluten-containing grains. However, they are not top 9 allergens and can be “hidden” in the ingredients, under names like malt, yeast extract, and natural flavors.
  3. Are there oats or oat milk in the ice cream? While oats are naturally gluten-free, they are frequently cross-contaminated with gluten in the field. If you are able to tolerate gluten-free oats, I recommend consuming ice cream with oats only if it is certified gluten-free, to reduce the risk of trace amounts of gluten in your ice cream.
  4. Does the manufacturer have good manufacturing policies to prevent cross-contact with gluten? If the ice cream you are buying has no gluten ingredients but is made on the same production line as gluten-containing cookie dough ice cream, there is a risk of cross-contamination. Manufacturers often disclose on their websites if they have protocols (cleaning production lines, testing) in place.
  5. Is the ice cream labeled gluten-free? For U.S. consumers, if a product has a gluten-free label, the FDA requires that it contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten, a level considered safe for most individuals with celiac disease.
  6. Is the ice cream certified gluten-free? Companies that have their ice cream certified gluten-free have invested additional time and money to have their products verified by a third party.

As a celiac, because of the risk of cross-contact, I personally stick to ice cream varieties that check boxes 5 & 6. They are either labeled gluten-free or certified gluten-free.

Thankfully, you will find many well-known and readily available ice cream manufacturers (and many smaller brands) labeling their ice cream gluten-free. Some of your favorites are even certified gluten-free!

Here are some of the best!

100% Gluten-Free Ice Cream Brands

The following three brands have no gluten ingredients in any of their ice creams. Everything is gluten-free!

Cosmic Bliss (Plus, Dairy-Free options)

Cosmic Bliss ice cream is all certified gluten-free, every last pint of ice cream.

Cosmic Bliss has two lines: grass-fed dairy ice cream and coconut milk-based treats, so those on a gluten-free, dairy-free diet are also covered.

Enjoy creative grass-fed dairy flavors like Strawberry Lemon Shortbread and Banana Caramel Flambé.

For dairy-free folks, there’s plant-based Chocolate Walnut Brownie, Legendary Cookie Dough, Sweet Cherry Amaretto, and more.

With values that include sustainable farming and global equity, you can feel good about a brand that cares about the world we live in, right along with your dietary needs.

In addition to ice cream and frozen dessert pints, Cosmic Bliss makes plant-based, frozen dessert bars and cookie sandwiches that are gluten-free.

Rebel Ice Cream

pink carton of Rebel Cookie Dough Ice Cream

Rebel Ice Cream is a keto brand that makes zero-sugar, full-fat ice cream, and is, per its website, ” the lowest glycemic index ice cream on the market” and “lowest net carb ice cream on the market”.

Every flavor is gluten-free. Birthday Cake, Snickerdoodle, Orange Cream, Cherry Chip, Butter Pecan…and more.

If you are simply craving a familiar, old-fashioned flavor, the Strawberry Ice Cream is delicious!

Rebel Ice Cream is easy to find anywhere from major grocery stores to big box stores (Target & Walmart).

Rebel also makes gluten-free ice cream sandwiches.

Straus Family Creamery

Straus has a gluten-free statement you’ll love. “Our organic dairy products, including all flavors of ice cream, yogurt, types of sour cream, butter, and milk are gluten-free. Equipment used in our facility is not shared with any products that contain gluten.”

Completely gluten-free. Also, Kosher Certified, Organic Dairy, Non-GMO Project Verified, and peanut free.

Here’s the full list of Straus flavors: Vanilla Bean, Dutch Chocolate, Strawberry, Cookies & Cream, Mint Chip, Vanilla Chip, Lemon Cookie (with gluten-free shortbread cookies), Caramel Swirl, Coffee, Vanilla, Fudge, and Snickerdoodle.

Ice Cream Brands with Gluten-Free Options

Ben & Jerry’s

pint of Ben & Jerry's Cherry Garcia Ice Cream

The popular Cherry Garcia is gluten-free! It was big news in our house when Ben & Jerry’s got gluten-free certification for some of its flavors.

Here are just a handful of some of your favorite Ben & Jerry’s flavors that are certified gluten-free:

  • Cherry Garcia
  • Phish Food
  • Chunky Monkey
  • Coffee Coffee BuzzBuzzBuzz
  • Boom Chocolatta!

A few certified gluten-free products also have a non-dairy option, including Cherry Garcia, Phish Food, and Karamel Sutra Core.

Not every flavor of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream is gluten-free. Look for the gluten-free certification on the ice cream container. For more information on Ben & Jerry’s certified gluten-free flavors, read my Ben & Jerry’s review.


Dryer’s & Edy’s are the same manufacturer. Dreyer’s is sold in the Western United States and Edy’s in the East and Midwest.

Because Dryer’s & Edy’s are such popular and well-known ice cream brands and the gluten-free information on the Company website was not very detailed, I reached out to Dreyer’s/Edy’s for more information.

  • If a finished product contains oats, barley or rye, these ingredients would be declared in the ingredient list on the package.
  • We recommend always checking the label for the most current information.
  • Our products with gluten-free claims on the package have gone through the testing process to ensure our testing shows less than 20 ppm (parts per million) of gluten.
  • If the product does not contain one of the known nine allergens but is made on the same line with potential for cross-contact, or in the same facility with potential for cross-contact, we add at the end of the ingredient listing that it “May Contain” the allergen. (Note, wheat is a top nine allergen, but barley and rye are not.)

Note: the Dreyer’s/Edy’s FAQ states that as a general rule, gluten is only in added ingredients, like cookies, cakes, and brownies. The exception to the rule is Slow Churned French Silk ice cream, which contains gluten in the natural flavors (from malt extract). This is clearly identified in the ingredient list on the package.

Bottom line, while some flavors of Dryer’s/Edy’s are naturally gluten-free according to the company’s statement, gluten-free consumers have the reassurance that products labeled gluten-free have been tested.

Flavors with a gluten-free claim on the package include Chocolate, Chocolate Chip, Coffee, Mint Chocolate Chip, Slow-Churned Classic Vanilla, Strawberry, and more.


Breyers No Sugar Added Vanilla Chocolate Strawberry Ice Cream with gluten free icon (green circle with words "gluten-Free) on the top of the carton
logo on the top of the container

Breyers is one of the easiest-to-find and most affordable brands of ice cream available in grocery stores and Big Box stores nationwide.

It’s my go-to brand when buying ice cream for a crowd.

Breyers is also the brand of ice cream I ask non-gluten-free guests to bring to my home when they offer to bring something. Breyers’ green gluten-free symbol is easy to find on its containers of gluten-free ice creams.

Breyers has a lengthy list of over 20 gluten-free varieties in popular flavors, including Vanilla, Chocolate, Mint Chip, Strawberry, Butter Pecan, and Cherry Vanilla.

Breyers also makes a few sugar-free flavors, as well as lactose-free flavors.

Read my detailed review of gluten-free Breyers ice cream.


Banana Cream Pudding (with gluten-free vanilla wafers), Goat Cheese with Red Cherries (think cherry cheesecake), Cookies & Cream, Wildberry Lavender, and Buttercream Birthday Cake are just a handful of Jeni’s gluten-free ice cream selections.

Jeni’s pints of ice cream are not to be missed. These are some of the most creative and unexpectedly gluten-free varieties of ice cream you’ve ever tasted.

If a particular pint of Jeni’s ice cream is gluten-free, you’ll see it written right on the container.


container of haagen-dazs rocky road ice cream with the lid off and a mini spoon holding a spoonful of ice cream

This premium brand of ice cream has a nice selection of decadent gluten-free flavors. Häagen-Dazs says that if a product contains a gluten-free claim on the label, they have tested to verify that it is below 20 parts per million, the limit established by the FDA to label a food product gluten-free.

Häagen-Dazs is a great choice when you are craving rich flavors like Coffee, Dulce de Leche, Chocolate Peanut Butter, and White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle.

If portion control is on your mind, Häagen-Dazs has gluten-free flavors available in tiny cups (under 4 oz) and mini ice cream bars.

Read my full review of Häagen-Dazs ice cream for a complete list of gluten-free flavors.

Graeter’s Ice Cream

Graeter’s has a huge selection of gluten-free ice cream. Caramel Macchiato, Cinnamon, Cotton Candy, Double Chocolate Chip, Dutch Milk Chocolate, Eggnog, Salted Caramel, Peach, Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip, Peppermint, Pistachio, Pumpkin, S’mores, and Vienna Coffee are just a sample of the dozens of options on Graeter’s list of gluten-free ice cream.

There are also four gluten-free, dairy-free sorbets: Lemon, Raspberry, Mango, and Strawberry.

Look for a Graeter’s gluten-free symbol (wheat inside a circle with a line through it) and the words gluten-free on the container at the time of purchase for the most up-to-date information.


container of Talenti Pacific Coast Pistachio Gelato

Talenti has two categories of gluten-free frozen treats: gelato and sorbetto. Neither is technically ice cream, but since gelato contains dairy, Talenti is listed here under ice cream for simplicity.

Gelato is Italian ice cream, with less cream (and less fat), more sugar, and less air (richer and denser) than ice cream. Sorbetto contains no milk or cream, has less air than ice cream, and often relies on real fruit for flavor.

Not all Talenti Gelato is gluten-free, so always check the container for the words “gluten-free”. Here are just a few of Talenti’s 10+ gluten-free gelato flavors you can enjoy:

  • Black Raspberry Chocolate Chip Gelato
  • Pacific Coast Pistachio Gelato
  • Peppermint Bark Gelato

For those who need dairy-free, Talenti Sorbetto is a great choice. There are currently four flavors of Talenti Sorbetto and two types of Mini Sorbetto Bars, all are gluten-free and dairy-free.

365 by Whole Foods Market Organic Ice Cream

Whole Foods Market sells organic ice cream under its private label, 365. Six of the flavors are certified gluten-free:

  • Chocolate
  • Coffee Chip
  • Mint Chip
  • Strawberry
  • Toffee Caramel
  • Vanilla Bean

Look for the Gluten-Free Certification Organization symbol on the front of each pint.

Alden’s Organics

This organic brand of ice cream has certified gluten-free versions of some of your favorite ice cream flavors, including Vanilla, Strawberry, Chocolate, Mint Chip, and… for chocolate lovers, Chocolate Chocolate Chip.

Plus, Alden’s Organics has a wide selection of organic, certified gluten-free ice cream bars and frozen dessert bars, such as Chocolate Fudge Bar, Orange Cream Bar with Vanilla Ice Cream, Vanilla Covered with Dark Chocolate, and Dairy-Free Coffee Swirl.

Halo Top

Carton of Halo Top Chocolate Light Ice Cream, "300 calories per pint"

Halo Top ice cream’s claim to fame is light ice cream that tastes as creamy and delicious as the ice cream you love. Yet, it is only 280-380 calories per pint. If you’ve read the calories on a few pints of ice cream, you know this is a big deal.

A few of Halo Top’s many certified gluten-free options:

  • Birthday Cake Light Ice Cream
  • Caramel Macchiato Light Ice Cream
  • Lemon Cake Light Ice Cream
  • Peaches & Cream Light Ice Cream
  • Peanut Butter Cup Light Ice Cream

Halo Top also has dairy-free alternatives. Here are some of its dairy-free, certified gluten-free varieties:

  • Dairy Free Candy Bar Frozen Dessert
  • Dairy Free Chocolate Almond Crunch Frozen Dessert
  • Dairy Free Peanut Butter Cup Frozen Dessert
  • Dairy Free Sea Salt Caramel Frozen Dessert

Note! Frozen Dessert simply means a dairy-free ice cream-style treat. Manufacturers cannot label these dairy-free desserts “ice cream” unless they are made from dairy products and contain at least 10% milk fat, per FDA rules.

The above lists are just a taste of gluten-free Halo Top flavors (both dairy and non-dairy). There are dozens!

All Halo Top Fruit Sorbets are certified gluten-free:

  • Mango Sorbet
  • Raspberry Sorbet
  • Strawberry Sorbet

Read the package carefully at the time of purchase. Birthday Cake Ice Cream, Lemon Cake Ice Cream, and Chocolate Caramel Lava Cake Keto Frozen Dessert (Whew! That’s a mouthful!) are certified gluten-free. But, I found a container of Chocolate Ice Cream Cake Ice Cream that contained wheat, which was clearly identified on the ingredient label.

Halo Top also has some gluten-free frozen pops. Again, not all, are gluten-free. The fruit pops are certified gluten-free and some of the ice cream bar style pops are as well, like Sea Salt Caramel Frozen Keto Bars.


Enlightened ice cream is lower in sugar, fat, and calories than traditional ice cream, and is sweetened with monk fruit and erythritol.

Some Enlightened ice cream pints are gluten-free, such as Keto Triple Chocolate Brownie Dough Ice Cream and Peppermint Partie Ice Cream.

Where Enlightened really shines is with its selection of seven gluten-free ice cream and yogurt bars, from Caramel Brownie Greek Yogurt Bars to Chocolate Peanut Butter Light Ice Cream Bars.

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert Brands (Ice Cream-Style)

Many people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance cannot tolerate dairy. For those who love ice cream, this is your list!

Technically, ice cream has to contain dairy and have at least 10%o milk fat to be labeled ice cream. Makers of dairy-free ice cream call it Frozen Dessert.

These brands only make dairy-free frozen desserts and have fine-tuned their recipes to give you the creamy texture you expect in any “ice cream”.

Some brands are completely gluten-free and other brands have a mix. As always, check the label at the time of purchase, as manufacturing practices and ingredients can and do change.

The first four brands on this list are all currently completely gluten-free and dairy-free and the last one has gluten-free options:

Arctic Zero

All flavors of Arctic Zero are certified gluten-free, making this brand another very safe option for those of us on a gluten-free diet due to celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Arctic Zero’s frozen desserts are also all vegan, certified plant-based, lactose-free, dairy-free, soy-free, non-GMO project verified, and kosher certified. Faba bean protein is used in lieu of milk and cream, and the frozen desserts are sweetened with a combination of organic sugar, monk fruit, and allulose.

Arctic Zero flavors include Chocolate Peanut Butter, Cookie Shake, and Cake Batter, along with classics like Vanilla and Purely Chocolate.

Mauna Loa

carton of Mauna Loa Macadamia Milk Mango Liliko-i frozen dessert

Looking for a taste of Hawaii? Mauna Loa (yes, of Mauna Loa macadamia nuts) makes nine flavors of dairy-free, gluten-free “ice cream” with macadamia nut milk. All you need is a hammock and a pint of Mango Liliko’i, Kona Coffee, Strawberry Guava or Rocky Road to Hana.

Always dairy-free and always gluten-free.


Cado (as in Avocado) is a frozen dessert made with avocado as the first and main ingredient. Don’t worry! You can’t actually taste the avocado, it simply makes this frozen dessert creamy like ice cream. I’ve been making avocado-based mint chip ice cream in my blender for years.

Every Cado flavor is gluten-free, as well as dairy-free, soy-free, and vegan.

Try fun flavors like Chocolate Mud Pie and Cookies & Cream! Both use gluten-free cookies in these flavors that would usually be off-limits for those of us with celiac disease.

Nada Moo

Nada Moo states that some of its production lines are not dedicated gluten-free, but the manufacturing equipment is thoroughly cleaned and the final products are tested and verified to contain below 5 parts per million gluten. Additionally, the mix-ins, like cookies, are produced on dedicated gluten-free lines.

At the time of writing, all Nada Moo pints are certified gluten-free and dairy-free frozen desserts. They are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, so you can look for the GFCO logo on the package.

Some Nada Moo varieties include usually forbidden flavors for those on a gluten-free diet: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, Strawberry Cheesecake, Pumpkin Pie, S’mores, and Cookies & Cream. Down to pie crusts and cookies, everything is gluten-free.

So Delicious Frozen Desserts (Gluten-Free Options)

So Delicious Dairy-Free Cookie Dough Coconut Milk Frozen Dessert, with "gluten-free" visible on the carton

So Delicious’ frozen desserts are dairy-free and certified vegan. Sold in ice-cream-style pints, these products are as creamy and delicious as regular ice cream.

Not every So Delicious frozen dessert is gluten-free, but most are. Plus! They are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.

Here’s a sampling of So Delicious Gluten-free, Dairy-free options:

  • Chocolate Cookies & Cream
  • Cookie Dough
  • Mocha Almond Fudge
  • Peanut Butter Brownie
  • Dipped Salted Caramel Cashew Milk Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert Bar (like an ice cream bar)

Gluten-Free Ice Cream Novelties

Ice Cream novelties are pre-packaged, portable ice cream treats. Picture anything that can be sold out of an ice cream truck.

No need to miss these childhood favorites. There are so many options for gluten-free ice cream novelties:


Box of Outshine Fruit Bars in cherry, tangerine and grape.

Ice Cream Cones

If you miss Nestle Drumsticks, Jolly Llama is going to make your day! Jolly Llama makes tiny dairy-free, gluten-free cones: Vanilla Fudge Sundae Cones, Caramel Chocolate Chip Cones, and White Mint Chip Cones.

Fat Boy also makes a certified gluten-free version of its ice cream cones. I have not been able to get my hands on the gluten-free ones. Check the Fat Boy store locator. Maybe you’ll be lucky and find them in your area!

Ice Cream Sandwiches

There are several gluten-free dairy-free frozen dessert sandwiches:

If you want a traditional novelty ice cream sandwich made with real dairy

Rebel has a variety of gluten-free ice cream sandwiches: chocolate chip vanilla, double chocolate chip mint, double peanut butter, and triple chocolate.

Fat Boy Gluten-Free Ice Cream Sandwiches are certified gluten-free and as hard to find as the Fat Boy gluten-free ice cream cones. They look like traditional ice cream sandwiches, so it’s worth checking the Fat Boy store locator to see if they are in your area.

Important! Fat Boy also makes gluten-containing ice cream sandwiches, so make sure you find the certified gluten-free logo on the package before purchasing.

Mochi Ice Cream

Bubbies Mochi, strawberry, green tea & mango

Mochi ice cream is a Japanese dessert. They are little balls of ice cream (about the size of a cake bite) covered with sweet, chewy, sticky rice dough.

Bubbies Mochi is certified gluten-free and comes in a variety of fun flavors, like green tea and mango.

Enlightened Mochi is gluten-free and available at Sprouts in three rich flavors: Kookies & Cream, Caramel Chocolate, and Double Chocolate.

Ice Cream Bars

box of haagen-dazs chocolate dark chocolate ice cream bars

Most of the following brands carry some gluten-free varieties along with gluten-containing ice cream bars. Double-check the package every time, for a gluten-free certification logo or gluten-free claim.

  • Häagen-Dazs ice cream bars (some varieties are gluten-free). You’ll love all of the choices of chocolate-dipped ice cream bars: peppermint bark, coffee almond crunch, dark chocolate, and more. The varieties that contain gluten have ingredients you expect to contain wheat: churros, pretzels, and cones; and Häagen-Dazs products that are gluten-free always carry a gluten-free symbol on the package. The ice cream bars come in regular and mini-size bars. Costco often carries a large box, perfect for feeding a crowd on a hot summer day!
  • Yasso Greek Yogurt Bars, some varieties are certified gluten-free and clearly labeled, including fun flavors like Black Raspberry Chip and Pistachio Brittle Bars. Other flavors like Birthday Cake are not gluten-free.
  • Alden’s Organic Ice Cream Bars are certified gluten-free. You will love the classic flavors including Chocolate Fudge Bar and Orange Cream, along with creative flavors like Root Beer Swirl and Dairy Free Coffee Swirl.
  • So Delicious Frozen Dessert Bars (non-dairy, so not technically ice cream) are all certified gluten-free. Note, not everything by So Delicious is gluten-free, but the dessert bars are. Try one of the chocolate-dipped varieties like Dipped Salted Caramel or Dipped Mocha Almond Fudge.
  • Enlightened Ice Cream Bars: some varieties are gluten-free, from Keto Chocolate Peanut Butter to Sea Salt Caramel. Check the front of the package for a gluten-free claim.

Italian Ice

Lindy’s Italian Ice and Luigi’s Real Italian Ice are both affordable, easy to find in most major grocery stores, and labeled gluten-free.

Make Your Own Ice Cream!

For endless varieties of gluten-free ice cream, purchase an ice cream maker and enjoy your own homemade ice cream flavors!

Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones

Joy Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones and Let’s Do Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones are both available in sugar cone style (like a waffle cone but flat/even on top) and cake/cup style (flat on the bottom, can stand up on its own).

You can find them on Amazon, in Big Box Stores (Target, Walmart), and in many grocery stores.

Gluten-Fee Ice Cream Toppings & Mix-Ins

Start with a classic flavor from an affordable brand, like Breyer’s Vanilla or Chocolate, and dress it up with your favorite of the following toppings. Set up an ice cream bar at your next party, and no one will even notice it’s gluten-free.

Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup

Bottle of Hershey's chocolate syrup.

Betty Crocker Sprinkles (most are labeled gluten-free)

Fresh Fruit

Goodie Girls Mint Slims (remarkably similar to Girl Scout Thin Mints)

Box of Goodie Girl Mint Cookies.

Gluten-Free Oreos

Tate’s Gluten-Free Cookies (Lemon, Ginger & Chocolate Chip)

Candy canes

Gluten-Free Graham Crackers

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups or Reese’s Pieces

Gluten-Free Vanilla Wafers

Reddi Whip

And more! Here’s a list of 100 Delicious Ice Cream Toppings! (All Gluten-Free)

Related Posts:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *